Data-center tracker · Project · Kansas
Proximity Park data center + natural gas plant (Lightfield Energy)
Lightfield Energy LLC · Ottawa, Franklin County, KS
- Status
- cancelled
- Developer
- Lightfield Energy LLC
- Location
- Ottawa, Franklin County, KS
- Power (MW)
- Not reported
- Land (acres)
- About 300 acres
- Investment
- Not reported
- Water
- Not reported
- Power utility
- Not reported
- Local signal
- Opposed
Upcoming
As of the record date. Confirm times with the host body before attending.
- Oct 20, 2026Court hearing on validity of ban initiative
- Nov 3, 2026Election on >25 MW data center ban
Ballot measures
- Prohibit Data Centers Initiative (Ottawa, KS) · Election Nov 3, 2026 · on the ballot
Prohibit the construction of data centers that use more than 25 megawatts of power
Moratoriums
- Franklin County: data center special use permits · through Dec 31, 2028 · savrn/ransonfinancial (secondary)
Local organizing
- Ottawa United
Timeline
- Sep 23, 2026City Commission voted 5-0 to terminate land sale contract (no development agreement/incentive application delivered; DA deadline had been Oct 30) · source ↗
- Sep 3, 2026Judge ordered ban initiative onto Nov 3 ballot
- Sep 2, 2026Franklin County moratorium on data center special use permits takes effect (through 2028-12-31)
Sources
- KSHB: 'Out of time': Ottawa ends data center contract as ballot fight continues ↗ · as of
- KOFO: Court orders Ottawa data-center issue onto the ballot ↗ · as of
- Ballotpedia: Ottawa Prohibit Data Centers Initiative ↗ · as of
Compiled from public records and reporting. Values a source did not state are marked “not reported”. Record ID ks-ottawa-lightfield-proximity-park. Back to the tracker.