Project Jayhawk / Digital Astra Park North (Digital Realty) →
Digital Realty (applicant entity: Digital Astra Park North, LLC) · De Soto, Johnson County, KS
approved
Latest · US data centers
Every data-center project, local ballot measure and policy we follow, with the numbers that matter locally and the next public meeting. We start in Kansas, and this week that means De Soto.
Digital Realty (applicant entity: Digital Astra Park North, LLC) · De Soto, Johnson County, KS
approved
Beale Infrastructure (Mount Sunflower, LLC) · De Soto, Johnson County, KS
under construction
Public posts about data centers that we logged this week. Tone is Singularity Farmer’s read of each post’s theme, not a poll: 0 supportive, 2 mixed, 3 opposed.
| Topic | Place | Who | Tone | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| De Soto Digital Realty | De Soto, Johnson Co KS | @KCStar ↗ | Mixed | |
| De Soto Digital Realty | De Soto, Johnson Co KS | @KCBizJournal ↗ | Mixed | |
| local DC ballot measures | 8 states incl. Kansas | @ballotpedia ↗ | Opposed | |
| Ottawa Lightfield contract | Ottawa, Franklin Co KS | @KSHB41 ↗ | Opposed | |
| Wakarusa DC protest | Wakarusa, Shawnee Co KS | @americans4ri ↗ | Opposed |
Singularity Farmer is pro-compute. We track opposition as closely as approvals, because communities negotiate better when they can see the whole field. Figures a source did not state are marked “not reported”, never estimated. Where a citation points to a news outlet’s front page, the article link is still being added. New to data centers? Start with the basics.
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beale Infrastructure data center campus (Mount Sunflower, LLC) Beale Infrastructure (Mount Sunflower, LLC) | De Soto, Johnson County, KS | under construction | Not reported | Oct 1, 2026 Council considers Supplement #2 to Mt Sunflower (Beale) Development Agreement: water/sewer demand cuts; $9.44M raw-water funding + $20M Community Betterment Fund; prior redacted utility terms unredacted |
| Compass Datacenters Topeka campus (Wakarusa area) Compass Datacenters | Wakarusa area (unincorporated, south Topeka), Shawnee County, KS | proposed | 400 MW | 2028-2031 Planned construction window |
| DAMAC Digital data center (Logistics Park Kansas City) DAMAC Digital | Edgerton, Johnson County, KS | approved | Not reported | None listed |
| El Dorado data center ban + Beltline Energy site due diligence Beltline Energy LLC (NDA / site due diligence only; no formal proposal) | El Dorado, Butler County, KS | Not reported | Not reported | Nov 3, 2026 Election |
| Flint Hills Digital Campus Kanza Park Place LLC (spokesman Garrett Nordstrom) | Emporia, Lyon County, KS | proposed | Not reported | Nov 3, 2026 Election on high-impact data center ban |
| Prairie Horizon Data Campus Beltline Energy | Emmett / St. Marys area, Pottawatomie County, KS | proposed | 1,200 MW | None listed |
| Project Catalyst Alcove Development + MDH Partners | Osawatomie, Miami County, KS | proposed | 500 MW | Oct 14, 2026 Court hearing on petition lawsuit |
| Project Jayhawk / Digital Astra Park North (Digital Realty) Digital Realty (applicant entity: Digital Astra Park North, LLC) | De Soto, Johnson County, KS | approved | Not reported | 2026-10 (first week) Expected award of independent noise-consultant contract (final report ~April 2027) |
| Project Linda | Kansas City, Wyandotte County, KS | proposed | 200 MW | None listed |
| Project Yardbird (Quindaro plant site) PowerTransitions | Kansas City, Wyandotte County, KS | proposed | 200 MW | None listed |
| Proximity Park data center + natural gas plant (Lightfield Energy) Lightfield Energy LLC | Ottawa, Franklin County, KS | cancelled | Not reported | Oct 20, 2026 Court hearing on validity of ban initiative |
| Red Wolf data center campus (Kansas Speedway area) Red Wolf DCD Properties | Kansas City, Wyandotte County, KS | paused | 600 MW | None listed |
| Spring Hill data center (191st & Renner) Bullock Capital / Colossus Advisors | Spring Hill, Johnson County, KS | cancelled | Not reported | None listed |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project Blue Beale Infrastructure | Tucson area (unincorporated), Pima County, AZ | under construction | 286 MW | None listed |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GlobalAI data center (Weld County / Windsor area) GlobalAI Cloud Inc. (per BizWest tags) | Windsor area, Weld County, CO | approved | Not reported | Sep 29, 2026 Citizens group collecting signatures for referendum on the approved facility plus initiative requiring voter approval for future DC development/expansion |
| Northeast Brighton data center campus (15518 WCR 4) | Brighton, Adams/Weld County, CO | proposed | Not reported | None listed |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project Tango + Palm Beach County hyperscale moratorium | Palm Beach County, FL | cancelled | Not reported | None listed |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project Camellia (OpenAI) OpenAI (developer entity Octans GA LLC) | near Rincon (Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub), Effingham County, GA | approved | 3,210 MW | 2028-2032 Construction window |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mercer County data center zoning (near Shaker Village / coal plant) | Mercer County, KY | proposed | Not reported | None listed |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 'The Barn' (Stargate) campus Related Digital (OpenAI/Oracle Stargate) | Saline Township, Washtenaw County, MI | under construction | 1,400 MW | Oct 23, 2026 EGLE wastewater permit public comment deadline |
| Augusta Township data center rezoning Thor Equities | Augusta Township, Washtenaw County, MI | cancelled | Not reported | None listed |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Downtown KC 20-story data center (304 W 10th St) Revitalization Unlimited | Kansas City, Jackson County, MO | proposed | 30 MW | None listed |
| Festus data center CRG | Festus, Jefferson County, MO | paused | Not reported | None listed |
| Google Kansas City data center (Hunt Midwest Business Center) + Project Mica | Kansas City (Northland), Clay County, MO | under construction | Not reported | None listed |
| Meramec Valley Tech Park BLE Landholdings / Beltline (reported) | Pacific, Franklin/St. Louis County, MO | proposed | Not reported | None listed |
| Nebius AI factory Nebius | Independence, Jackson County, MO | under construction | 800 MW | Feb 2, 2027 Special election primary for recalled seat |
| Peculiar data center Diode Ventures | Peculiar, Cass County, MO | cancelled | Not reported | None listed |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project Horizon | Kearney, Buffalo County, NE | approved | 368 MW | None listed |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eldorado Valley data centers (Question 1) / TS2 Townsite Solar 2 LLC (TS2 proposal, separate) | Boulder City, Clark County, NV | proposed | 167 MW | Nov 3, 2026 Election |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Merrimack Station data center viability study Granite Shore Power | Bow, Merrimack County, NH | proposed | 350 MW | None listed |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EdgeConneX Ashville campus + PowerConneX gas plant EdgeConneX / PowerConneX | Ashville, Pickaway County, OH | proposed | 800 MW | Nov 3, 2026 Referendum on Resolution 06-2026 |
| Wilmington data center campus Ardent / TAC (reported) | Wilmington, Clinton County, OH | approved | Not reported | Nov 3, 2026 4 rezoning referendums |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aligned Data Centers campus near Amber Aligned Data Centers ((OK) Propco LLC) | near Amber (unincorporated), Grady County, OK | proposed | Not reported | Oct 6, 2026 Aligned public meeting, Amber-Pocasset High School |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Former Alcoa site hyperscale campus TECfusions | Upper Burrell Township, Westmoreland County, PA | paused | Not reported | None listed |
| PAX-1 data center complex | Middlesex Township, Cumberland County, PA | under construction | Not reported | None listed |
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GM/JATCO site data center (Viridian) Viridian | Janesville, Rock County, WI | cancelled | 800 MW | Nov 3, 2026 Voter-approval initiative for GM/JATCO site >$450M |
| Lighthouse campus (Vantage; OpenAI/Oracle) Vantage Data Centers | Port Washington, Ozaukee County, WI | under construction | 902 MW | 2027 (late) First handovers |
| Midtown Milwaukee data center + citywide moratorium | Milwaukee, Milwaukee County, WI | cancelled | Not reported | None listed |
| Wrightstown data center (Cloverleaf) Cloverleaf Infrastructure | Wrightstown, Brown/Outagamie County, WI | Not reported | Not reported | None listed |
Local measures on data centers that are not yet tied to a single project record. Measures attached to a project appear on that project’s page.
Jurisdiction-wide actions such as moratoriums and zoning changes.
| Policy | Location | Latest action |
|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles County temporary ban on large-scale data centers (unincorporated) | Los Angeles County, CA | Sep 2026 County temporarily prohibited large-scale data centers in unincorporated areas while pursuing permanent zoning changes (exact ordinance date not verified in primary source this run) |
| Mesa County 1-year data center moratorium | Mesa County, CO | Sep 29, 2026 Commissioners approved 12-month moratorium on acceptance/processing/approval of land-use applications for data centers in unincorporated Mesa County; effective immediately; no projects currently in works |
| Thornton 1-year data center moratorium | Thornton, Adams County, CO | Sep 2026 City Council approved ~1-year moratorium on new data centers larger than ~50,000 sq ft (exact date ~Sep 8–9 per social posts; primary ordinance link not captured this run) |
| Marion County data center moratorium | Marion County, FL | Sep 15, 2026 12-month moratorium passed 4-1 |
| Frederick County referendum + moratorium | Frederick County, MD | Jun 30, 2026 MD Supreme Court blocked referendum |
| Charlotte proposed 11-month data center moratorium extension | Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, NC | Sep 29, 2026 City Council unanimously set public hearing on proposed 11-month extension |
| Davidson County proposed 4-month data center moratorium | Davidson County, NC | Sep 29, 2026 Board of Commissioners voted 4-2 to schedule public hearing on proposed 4-month moratorium (shorter than previously discussed 6-month) |
| Cleveland 3-month data center permit freeze + hearings | Cleveland, Cuyahoga County, OH | Sep 29, 2026 Second public hearing, Cleveland City Hall 5–8 PM ET |
| Lubbock 90-day moratorium process | Lubbock, Lubbock County, TX | Sep 22, 2026 Council voted 5-2 to begin 90-day moratorium process (2 hearings required); 18-month pause petition got no second |
| Texas state data center permit review pause (Abbott) | TX | Sep 2026 Gov. Abbott ordered state environmental regulators to pause review of data center permits for added grid/water scrutiny; expands earlier pause to projects with own power (exact order date not verified in primary source this run) |
| Prince William County ends by-right data centers | Prince William County, VA | Sep 22, 2026 Board voted unanimously to end by-right data center development; 90-day grace period |