Skip to content
SINGULARITY FARMER
LearnInsightsUpdatesFollow on X ↗

Data-center tracker · Project · Kansas

Proximity Park data center + natural gas plant (Lightfield Energy)

Lightfield Energy LLC · Ottawa, Franklin County, KS

Record updated · Sources checked on the dates listed below

Share on X ↗
Status
cancelled
Developer
Lightfield Energy LLC
Location
Ottawa, Franklin County, KS
Power (MW)
Not reported
Land (acres)
About 300 acres
Investment
Not reported
Water
Not reported
Power utility
Not reported
Local signal
Opposed

Upcoming

As of the record date. Confirm times with the host body before attending.

  • Oct 20, 2026Court hearing on validity of ban initiative
  • Nov 3, 2026Election on >25 MW data center ban

Ballot measures

  • Prohibit Data Centers Initiative (Ottawa, KS) · Election Nov 3, 2026 · on the ballot
    Prohibit the construction of data centers that use more than 25 megawatts of power

Moratoriums

  • Franklin County: data center special use permits · through Dec 31, 2028 · savrn/ransonfinancial (secondary)

Local organizing

  • Ottawa United

Timeline

  • Sep 23, 2026City Commission voted 5-0 to terminate land sale contract (no development agreement/incentive application delivered; DA deadline had been Oct 30) · source ↗
  • Sep 3, 2026Judge ordered ban initiative onto Nov 3 ballot
  • Sep 2, 2026Franklin County moratorium on data center special use permits takes effect (through 2028-12-31)

Sources

  1. KSHB: 'Out of time': Ottawa ends data center contract as ballot fight continues ↗ · as of
  2. KOFO: Court orders Ottawa data-center issue onto the ballot ↗ · as of
  3. Ballotpedia: Ottawa Prohibit Data Centers Initiative ↗ · as of

Compiled from public records and reporting. Values a source did not state are marked “not reported”. Record ID ks-ottawa-lightfield-proximity-park. Back to the tracker.