The learning desk · Source of truth
The US data-center tracker
Every data-center project, local ballot measure and policy we are following, with the numbers that matter locally: power, land, water, money and the next public meeting. Each record lists its sources and the date they were checked.
Singularity Farmer is pro-compute. We track opposition as closely as approvals, because communities negotiate better when they can see the whole field. Figures a source did not state are marked “not reported”, never estimated. Where a citation points to a news outlet’s front page, the article link is still being added. New to data centers? Start with the basics.
Projects
Kansas
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beale Infrastructure data center campus (Mount Sunflower, LLC) Beale Infrastructure (Mount Sunflower, LLC) | De Soto, Johnson County, KS | under construction | Not reported | Oct 1, 2026 Council considers Supplement #2 to Mt Sunflower (Beale) Development Agreement: water/sewer demand cuts; $9.44M raw-water funding + $20M Community Betterment Fund; prior redacted utility terms unredacted |
| Compass Datacenters Topeka campus (Wakarusa area) Compass Datacenters | Wakarusa area (unincorporated, south Topeka), Shawnee County, KS | proposed | 400 MW | 2028-2031 Planned construction window |
| DAMAC Digital data center (Logistics Park Kansas City) DAMAC Digital | Edgerton, Johnson County, KS | approved | Not reported | None listed |
| El Dorado data center ban + Beltline Energy site due diligence Beltline Energy LLC (NDA / site due diligence only; no formal proposal) | El Dorado, Butler County, KS | Not reported | Not reported | Nov 3, 2026 Election |
| Flint Hills Digital Campus Kanza Park Place LLC (spokesman Garrett Nordstrom) | Emporia, Lyon County, KS | proposed | Not reported | Nov 3, 2026 Election on high-impact data center ban |
| Prairie Horizon Data Campus Beltline Energy | Emmett / St. Marys area, Pottawatomie County, KS | proposed | 1,200 MW | None listed |
| Project Catalyst Alcove Development + MDH Partners | Osawatomie, Miami County, KS | proposed | 500 MW | Oct 14, 2026 Court hearing on petition lawsuit |
| Project Jayhawk / Digital Astra Park North (Digital Realty) Digital Realty (applicant entity: Digital Astra Park North, LLC) | De Soto, Johnson County, KS | approved | Not reported | 2026-10 (first week) Expected award of independent noise-consultant contract (final report ~April 2027) |
| Project Linda | Kansas City, Wyandotte County, KS | proposed | 200 MW | None listed |
| Project Yardbird (Quindaro plant site) PowerTransitions | Kansas City, Wyandotte County, KS | proposed | 200 MW | None listed |
| Proximity Park data center + natural gas plant (Lightfield Energy) Lightfield Energy LLC | Ottawa, Franklin County, KS | cancelled | Not reported | Oct 20, 2026 Court hearing on validity of ban initiative |
| Red Wolf data center campus (Kansas Speedway area) Red Wolf DCD Properties | Kansas City, Wyandotte County, KS | paused | 600 MW | None listed |
| Spring Hill data center (191st & Renner) Bullock Capital / Colossus Advisors | Spring Hill, Johnson County, KS | cancelled | Not reported | None listed |
Arizona
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project Blue Beale Infrastructure | Tucson area (unincorporated), Pima County, AZ | under construction | 286 MW | None listed |
Colorado
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GlobalAI data center (Weld County / Windsor area) GlobalAI Cloud Inc. (per BizWest tags) | Windsor area, Weld County, CO | approved | Not reported | Sep 29, 2026 Citizens group collecting signatures for referendum on the approved facility plus initiative requiring voter approval for future DC development/expansion |
| Northeast Brighton data center campus (15518 WCR 4) | Brighton, Adams/Weld County, CO | proposed | Not reported | None listed |
Florida
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project Tango + Palm Beach County hyperscale moratorium | Palm Beach County, FL | cancelled | Not reported | None listed |
Georgia
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project Camellia (OpenAI) OpenAI (developer entity Octans GA LLC) | near Rincon (Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub), Effingham County, GA | approved | 3,210 MW | 2028-2032 Construction window |
Kentucky
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mercer County data center zoning (near Shaker Village / coal plant) | Mercer County, KY | proposed | Not reported | None listed |
Michigan
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 'The Barn' (Stargate) campus Related Digital (OpenAI/Oracle Stargate) | Saline Township, Washtenaw County, MI | under construction | 1,400 MW | Oct 23, 2026 EGLE wastewater permit public comment deadline |
| Augusta Township data center rezoning Thor Equities | Augusta Township, Washtenaw County, MI | cancelled | Not reported | None listed |
Missouri
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Downtown KC 20-story data center (304 W 10th St) Revitalization Unlimited | Kansas City, Jackson County, MO | proposed | 30 MW | None listed |
| Festus data center CRG | Festus, Jefferson County, MO | paused | Not reported | None listed |
| Google Kansas City data center (Hunt Midwest Business Center) + Project Mica | Kansas City (Northland), Clay County, MO | under construction | Not reported | None listed |
| Meramec Valley Tech Park BLE Landholdings / Beltline (reported) | Pacific, Franklin/St. Louis County, MO | proposed | Not reported | None listed |
| Nebius AI factory Nebius | Independence, Jackson County, MO | under construction | 800 MW | Feb 2, 2027 Special election primary for recalled seat |
| Peculiar data center Diode Ventures | Peculiar, Cass County, MO | cancelled | Not reported | None listed |
Nebraska
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project Horizon | Kearney, Buffalo County, NE | approved | 368 MW | None listed |
Nevada
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eldorado Valley data centers (Question 1) / TS2 Townsite Solar 2 LLC (TS2 proposal, separate) | Boulder City, Clark County, NV | proposed | 167 MW | Nov 3, 2026 Election |
New Hampshire
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Merrimack Station data center viability study Granite Shore Power | Bow, Merrimack County, NH | proposed | 350 MW | None listed |
Ohio
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EdgeConneX Ashville campus + PowerConneX gas plant EdgeConneX / PowerConneX | Ashville, Pickaway County, OH | proposed | 800 MW | Nov 3, 2026 Referendum on Resolution 06-2026 |
| Wilmington data center campus Ardent / TAC (reported) | Wilmington, Clinton County, OH | approved | Not reported | Nov 3, 2026 4 rezoning referendums |
Oklahoma
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aligned Data Centers campus near Amber Aligned Data Centers ((OK) Propco LLC) | near Amber (unincorporated), Grady County, OK | proposed | Not reported | Oct 6, 2026 Aligned public meeting, Amber-Pocasset High School |
Pennsylvania
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Former Alcoa site hyperscale campus TECfusions | Upper Burrell Township, Westmoreland County, PA | paused | Not reported | None listed |
| PAX-1 data center complex | Middlesex Township, Cumberland County, PA | under construction | Not reported | None listed |
Wisconsin
| Project | Location | Status | Power | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GM/JATCO site data center (Viridian) Viridian | Janesville, Rock County, WI | cancelled | 800 MW | Nov 3, 2026 Voter-approval initiative for GM/JATCO site >$450M |
| Lighthouse campus (Vantage; OpenAI/Oracle) Vantage Data Centers | Port Washington, Ozaukee County, WI | under construction | 902 MW | 2027 (late) First handovers |
| Midtown Milwaukee data center + citywide moratorium | Milwaukee, Milwaukee County, WI | cancelled | Not reported | None listed |
| Wrightstown data center (Cloverleaf) Cloverleaf Infrastructure | Wrightstown, Brown/Outagamie County, WI | Not reported | Not reported | None listed |
Ballot measures
Local measures on data centers that are not yet tied to a single project record. Measures attached to a project appear on that project’s page.
Local policies
Jurisdiction-wide actions such as moratoriums and zoning changes.
| Policy | Location | Latest action |
|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles County temporary ban on large-scale data centers (unincorporated) | Los Angeles County, CA | Sep 2026 County temporarily prohibited large-scale data centers in unincorporated areas while pursuing permanent zoning changes (exact ordinance date not verified in primary source this run) |
| Mesa County 1-year data center moratorium | Mesa County, CO | Sep 29, 2026 Commissioners approved 12-month moratorium on acceptance/processing/approval of land-use applications for data centers in unincorporated Mesa County; effective immediately; no projects currently in works |
| Thornton 1-year data center moratorium | Thornton, Adams County, CO | Sep 2026 City Council approved ~1-year moratorium on new data centers larger than ~50,000 sq ft (exact date ~Sep 8–9 per social posts; primary ordinance link not captured this run) |
| Marion County data center moratorium | Marion County, FL | Sep 15, 2026 12-month moratorium passed 4-1 |
| Frederick County referendum + moratorium | Frederick County, MD | Jun 30, 2026 MD Supreme Court blocked referendum |
| Charlotte proposed 11-month data center moratorium extension | Charlotte, Mecklenburg County, NC | Sep 29, 2026 City Council unanimously set public hearing on proposed 11-month extension |
| Davidson County proposed 4-month data center moratorium | Davidson County, NC | Sep 29, 2026 Board of Commissioners voted 4-2 to schedule public hearing on proposed 4-month moratorium (shorter than previously discussed 6-month) |
| Cleveland 3-month data center permit freeze + hearings | Cleveland, Cuyahoga County, OH | Sep 29, 2026 Second public hearing, Cleveland City Hall 5–8 PM ET |
| Lubbock 90-day moratorium process | Lubbock, Lubbock County, TX | Sep 22, 2026 Council voted 5-2 to begin 90-day moratorium process (2 hearings required); 18-month pause petition got no second |
| Texas state data center permit review pause (Abbott) | TX | Sep 2026 Gov. Abbott ordered state environmental regulators to pause review of data center permits for added grid/water scrutiny; expands earlier pause to projects with own power (exact order date not verified in primary source this run) |
| Prince William County ends by-right data centers | Prince William County, VA | Sep 22, 2026 Board voted unanimously to end by-right data center development; 90-day grace period |